Organised by
Funded by
 

Story
Map

Story Map is a database presented in the form of a map using GIS (Geographic Information System) technology to integrate various resource information into a single user interface. Users can look for specific information on the map to learn about a certain place from multiple angles. When browsing the ‘Hike in Lantau, Cherish Lantau’ Story Map, you can find information of each location on Lantau Island, including scenic spots, natural ecology, cultural history and geological information of trails, as well as landscape of Lantau Island in the past. We hope this could encourage a better understanding of the story and development of Lantau’s countryside and rural areas, thereby helping to preserve this beautiful island with our joint effort.

 

‘Hike in Lantau’ Theme Story Trails

Tung O Past and Present

 
01

10.8 km

 

Approximately 5 hours

 

Suitable for medium and long-distance hike

 

Tung O Ancient Trail is a footpath connecting several major villages in northern Lantau Island. It starts from Tung Chung in the east and ends in Tai O in the west, passing through Sha Lo Wan, San Tau, Sham Wat, etc. Since the launch of the ‘Rose Garden Project’ (new airport project) in the 1990s, tremendous changes have been observed in the landscapes of these previously quiet and simple villages, with many key infrastructures being developed in neighbouring areas, which include the Chek Lap Kok New Airport, Tung Chung New Town, etc.

As the city continues to develop, several villages along the Ancient Trail are gradually left abandoned. Despite this, trail visitors will still be able to pass through a number of ancient ruins and have a feel of rural lifestyle in the past, including ruins of forts, Lantau North Obelisk, stilt houses and so forth. The landscape in the surrounding area might have changed drastically over the years. Nonetheless, there are still something that remain unchanged.

Steep slopes are rarely observed in this route, yet it may take up to around 4-5 hours to hike, and is suitable for intermediate hikers.

Route Details

 

A Tranquil Walk in East Lantau

 
02

6.2 km (no point of retreat)

 

Approximately 3 hours

 

Suitable for short-distance hike

 

East Lantau is a quiet place. There are only few large-scale development projects since the launch of the resort style residential complex ‘Discovery Bay’ in Tai Pak Beach in the 80s. However, with the development of the Lantau area, islands in the eastern waters may be reclaimed for construction of artificial islands.

Tranquility and prosperity, ecology and development – can they actually co-exist?

Route Details

 

Pui O Wetland Treasure

 
03

1.5/1.8 km

 

Approximately 1.5 hours

 

Suitable for families and eco-lovers

 

Located in South Lantau, Pui O owns abundant ecological resources and diversified habitats that support a variety of species. Here you can visit two different types of wetlands, including mangrove wetland in brackish water and freshwater wetland transformed from abandoned farmland, each of which is special in its own way.

When visiting Pui O, you can spend a whole day quietly observing its ecology, or simply enjoy the fun of hiking in a relaxing way. Beaches and campsites there managed by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department also provide good options for a variety of outdoor activities.

Route Details

 

Fa Mun Traditional Path in Ngong Ping

 
04

3.5 km

 

Approximately 2 hours

 

no point of retreat

 

Ngong Ping was very quiet in the past, which can be told from the high density of religious buildings in the area. It is also a place of retreat for monks. Prior to the development of the transportation system in the area, Fa Mun Traditional Path was the fastest option for travelling between Ngong Ping and Tung Chung. In addition, the Traditional Path ascends gently without any steep slope. Before arriving Ngong Ping, hermitages and temples can be found along the path, which gives a completely different ambience compared to the city.

Today, Ngong Ping has developed into a major tourist attraction. The Ngong Ping Market, Wisdom Path and Big Buddha have attracted many tourists. Yet, a sense of tranquility is still retained in the monasteries among the area.

Route Details

 

Exploring the Ancient Beauty of South Lantau

 
05

19 km

 

Approximately 6.5 hours

 

Suitable for those with considerable hiking experience and physical fitness

 

If you find the north Lantau coast being overcrowded with infrastructures, the city too noisy, or the dense high-rise buildings too suffocating, why not take a bus ride to the south of Lantau Island? Start a walk from Shek Pik, from east to west, passing through Kau Ling Chung, Fan Lau, Yi O and finally arriving at Tai O. Reminisce about the landscape of ancient villages from the calm pond, study the geography and ecology through turbid streams, and observe the past and present from historic sites.

Visit the south coast of Lantau to truly feel the nature and appreciate what a natural coast should look like. Observe changes in your mood and compare the differences of South and North Lantau as you travel across them.

Route Details

 

Sunset Peak in Autumn

 
06

6.5 km

 

Approximately 4.5 hours

 

Suitable for beginners who are physically fit

 

Situated in central Lantau, the 869.9m Sunset Peak is Hong Kong’s third highest mountain that belongs to Lantau Trail Section Two. It is a very popular hiking destination in autumn and winter. The sea of native Hong Kong plant Miscanthus over Sunset Peak and Yi Tung Shan, commonly known as silvergrass, has attracted a large amount of visitors. The number of tourists continues to grow with sharing and promotion on social media. During peak season, queues of people going uphill are not uncommon. The road condition of Sunset Peak is good in general, despite the slopes are steep and would require considerable physical strength to hike. Sunset Peak is a beautiful place worth visiting, if you do not mind the crowds during peak seasons.

Route Details

 

Tung Mui Ancient Trail – Travelling between South and North

 
07

Approximately 2 hours

 

7 km

 

Suitable for families and beginners

 

In the past, ferry from Central to Mui Wo was the only way of travelling to Lantau Island, followed by subsequent bus transfer to various points on the Island. This was why Mui Wo was so prosperous at that time. However, since the government announced the plan to construct a new airport in Chek Lap Kok, the situation has totally changed – bridges and railways directly connect urban areas to Tung Chung, and the Tung Chung New Town has developed in conjunction with the airport development project. Tung Chung is now regarded as the gateway of travelling to Lantau Island. Despite the differences in the destinies of Tung Chung and Mui Wo, the ancient trail between these two places served as a major passage for villagers in the past. An easy route, Tung Mui Ancient Trail is suitable for families to experience the transformations of Lantau Island together.

Route Details

 

Lantau Mountain Camp

 
08

Approximately 3.5 hours

 

5.5 km

 

Suitable for those with considerable hiking experience

 

physical requirements for this trail are higher than ordinary trails

 

Lantau Peak is the second highest peak in Hong Kong and the highest on Lantau Island. A description of Lantau Peak can be found in Xinan Gazetteer: ‘Located on Lantau Island and made up of a pair of spurs, Lantau Peak resembles the shape of the home of phoenixes and is facing the Pui To Mountain.’ The pair of spurs are known as ‘Fung’ and ‘Wong’, looking like a pavilion where phoenixes reside from afar, and that is why it is called Fung Wong Shan in Chinese (literally ‘Phoenix Mountain’). Meanwhile, there is also a saying that the Peak got its name from its collapsed peak. Because of its height and geographical location, Lantau Peak enjoys a panoramic view and the stunning scenery of central and west Lantau, the Castle Peak (Pui To Mountain), Hong Kong Island and Kowloon.

There is a ‘Lantau Peak Sunrise’ portal at the entrance of the Wisdom Path in Ngong Ping, which is referring to the most famous attraction on Lantau Peak. Some people would climb Lantau Peak at night to admire the beautiful sunrise. When the timing is right, some may even be able to see the breathtaking sea of clouds.

There are many routes on Lantau Peak to choose from, which include traditional hiking trails, as well as more advanced mountain routes. Among these routes, Lantau Peak Section Three is the most popular.

Route Details

 
 
 

Leave
No
Trace

 
 
 

When enjoying the fun of outdoor activities, always bear in mind that we should protect the environment. There are more principles of ‘Leave No Trace’

主辦機構
資助機構
 




故事地圖是一個以地圖形式呈現的資料庫,背後使用 GIS (geographic information system) 的技術,用以把各種不同資源訊整合成單一使用界面,閱覽者可隨意在地圖上查看特定資料,以便從多方面了解該地點的不同資料。 當瀏覽「行大嶼,惜大嶼」故事地圖的時候,你可以藉線上地圖看到大嶼山各個地點的郊遊資訊,大嶼山山徑的風景名勝、自然生態、文化歷史及地質資料等,也可找到昔日大嶼山的風貌。希望大家於行山以外亦可以了解更多大嶼山郊野及鄉郊發展故事認識和一起保護這個美麗島嶼。

 

「行大嶼」主題故事路徑

東澳今昔

 
01

10.8公里

 

約5小時

 

中級遠足愛好者

 

東澳古道是連結大嶼山北部數個主要村落的步道,東起東涌,西至大澳,沿途經沙螺灣、䃟頭、深屈等。昔日憩靜純樸的農村,自90年代的「玫瑰園計劃」(新機場工程)開始,景觀來了巨大的變化,與多項重點基建發展相鄰相對,包括赤鱲角新機場、東涌新巿鎮等等。

雖然古道上幾個鄉村已隨著新都巿發展而日漸式微,可是會途經不少舊遺跡及鄉村生活風貌,包括炮台遺址、嶼北界碑、漁鄉棚屋等等。縱使四周風景已經「滄海桑田」,仍有些是東西「桃花依舊」。

本路線沿途山勢起伏不大,惟步行需時4-5小時,適合中級遠足愛好者。

地圖詳情

 

嶼東靜靜走

 
02

6.2 公里

 

3 小時

 

短途遠足

 

大嶼東部是個幽靜的地方,在 80 年代在大白灣發展渡假式地產項目「愉景灣」後鮮有大型發展項目,可是隨著大嶼山的區域的發展,東部水域的島嶼可能會填海建設人工島。
清靜與繁榮,生態與發展,可以共存嗎?

地圖詳情

 

貝澳濕地瑰寶

 
03

1.5/1.8 公里

 

1.5 小時

 

親子遊 / 生態遊

 

貝澳是南大嶼其中一個生態十分豐富的地方,還可以一次遊覽兩種不同的濕地,各有不同的特色,包括位於鹹淡水交界的紅樹林及由廢棄農地演變而成的淡水濕地。
來到貝澳可以花上一整天靜靜的仔細觀察生態,也可以作輕鬆簡便的郊遊活動。這裡亦有由康樂及文化事務署管理的沙灘及營地,適合不同的進行團體活動。

地圖詳情

 

昂坪的法門

 
04

3.5公里

 

約2小時

 

無中途撤退點

 

過去的昂坪非常清幽,從各宗教襌院建築如此集中便可得知,不少僧侶亦以此為靜修的地方。而在交通仍未發達時,法門古道便成為他們來往昂坪及東涌最快捷的選擇,而且古道建造緩緩而上,並不陡峭,未到昂坪便以可見沿途的茅蓬和靜室,與市區的氣氛截然不同。

時至今日,昂坪已發展為一大旅遊景點,昂坪市集、心經簡林及天壇大佛都吸引不少遊人到訪此處,遊人如鯽,但座落於其周邊的山中寺院,卻仍能保留著一份清幽寧靜。

地圖詳情

 

走透嶼南

 
05

19 公里

 

約 6.5 小時

 

具相當行山經驗及體能的人士

 

如果放眼嶼北海岸盡是基建,如果市區的聲音過於喧囂,如果身處密集的高樓感到壓迫,建議你搭一趟巴士,從嶼北南下。從石壁開始徒步,由東至西,跨狗嶺涌,過分流,穿二澳,走抵大澳。在平靜的塘水中顧懷古村風貌,在亂濁的水流中閱讀地理生態,從歷史遺蹟中察視古今。

迴繞嶼南海岸,嚐一口野外氣息,賞望天然海岸該有的模樣。在嶼南嶼北之間,觀照心境變化,比對兩岸之別。

地圖詳情

 

秋天的大東

 
06

6.5 公里

 

約 4.5 小時

 

初級但體力良好的行山者

 

位於大嶼山中部的大東山(Sunset Peak),高869.9米,是香港第三高的山峰,屬於鳳凰徑第二段,每年秋冬均是登山大熱之選。大東山及二東山山頭長滿香港原生植物「芒」,俗稱芒草,因此不少遊人均被這大片的金黃芒草海吸引,並透過社交媒體發揚光大,遊人數目有增無減,旺季之時更出現人龍,需要排隊上山。大東山整體路況良好,但上下坡幅大,需一定體力,不怕旺季人潮擁擠的話,是很值得一去的美麗山峰。

地圖詳情

 

東梅古道南北縱走

 
07

約 2 小時

 

7 公里

 

親子遊

 

行山新手

 

從前到大嶼山,總是要從中環乘船到梅窩,再轉乘巴士到大嶼山各處,梅窩亦因此特別興盛,遊人眾多。可是,當政府計劃在赤鱲角興建新機場之後,發展情況南北逆轉,大橋和鐵路由市區直達東涌,東涌新市鎮亦配合機場發展起來,東涌因而成為郊遊人士到訪大嶼山的首站。東涌及梅窩命運迥異,兩者之間卻有一條古道,為昔日村民來往兩地之要道。東梅古道輕鬆易走,適合扶老攜幼,一同細味大嶼山的鄉土變遷。

地圖詳情

 

登上爛頭變鳳凰

 
08

約 3.5 小時

 

5.5 公里

 

有足夠行山經驗人士

 

體能要求比一般山徑高

 

鳳凰山是香港的第二高峰,也是大嶼山的最高峰。關於鳳凰山的描述,可從《新安縣志》內略知一二:「鳳凰山在大奚山帳內,雙峯插雲,形如鳳閣,與杯渡山對峙。」雙峯分別是主峰鳳和副峰凰,遠看尤如鳳凰居住的樓閣,故名。亦有說「爛頭山」一名,因山頂像崩了頭部。受惠於鳳凰山高度和地理位置,山頂視野廣闊,能飽覽大嶼山中部及西部的風景,亦能遠眺青山(即杯渡山)、香港島及九龍一帶。

在昂坪心經簡林的入口有一牌匾「鳳凰觀日」,指的就是鳳凰山最著名的景點。遊人會冒夜上山觀看日出,合適的時候更會看見一望無際的雲海。

探遊鳳凰山的路線多樣,有傳統的郊遊徑,也有進階的山路。眾多路徑當中,最多人選擇的路線當屬鳳凰徑第三段。

地圖詳情

 
 
 




 
 
 

享受郊遊之樂同時也要保護環境,有更多「無痕山林」原則。